The Allotment Wife

Gladioli Gold

10 Comments

This week, the gladioli just keep on flowering and do look stunning in vases so I’m definitely going to get more of the same next year. I’ve recently discovered the trick of snipping the last few flowers off at the top when I pick them (as they won’t come out anyway) and that definitely makes them last longer and helps the rest of the buds come into bloom too.

Talking of buds, now that the dahlias have recovered from the dreaded blackfly, I can pick a harvest of them twice a week and still have huge numbers of buds remaining, waiting to come into bloom:

Dahlia buds

Meanwhile the autumn raspberries are doing well, and we are beginning to get the beginning of a small harvest, even though it’s not ‘officially’ autumn yet – though actually there’s a change in the weather that is definitely autumnal to my mind, plus we had the first of the large autumn spiders (yuk!) in the house this week so that doesn’t look good for the rest of the spider season, oh dear me …

Autumn raspberries

And the runner beans continue to do their thing in great abundance – we have now filled the freezer with them to see us over the winter, and there’s no sign of them stopping yet! Maybe we’ll try to enter the longest runner bean competition in the Allotment Show next month and see how we do, LOL!

Runner beans

Anyway, here are the two harvests of this week, which include courgettes, runner beans, autumn raspberries, gladioli, gaura, penstemons, sweet peas (now reaching the end of their season, alas …), crocosmia, coreopsis, dahlias, marigolds, geums and echinacea.

Harvest veg & fruit

Harvest 1

Harvest 2

Here are the flowers at home in their vases:

Vases 1

Vase 2

Vase 3

Vase 4

Vase 5

Vase 6

Have a great Sunday, everyone!

Anne Brooke Books

Author: annebrooke

Anne Brooke lives in Surrey, UK, and writes in a variety of genres, including gay erotic romance, fantasy, comedy, thrillers, biblical fiction and the occasional chicklit novel. When not writing, she spends time in the garden attempting to differentiate between flowers and weeds, and in the allotment attempting to grow vegetables. Occasionally, she can also be found in the kitchen making cakes. Every now and again, they are edible. Her websites can be found at: www.annebrooke.com, www.gayreads.co.uk, www.biblicalfiction.co.uk and www.gathandria.com (for fantasy fiction).

10 thoughts on “Gladioli Gold

  1. Yes, please enter that runner bean contest!!
    I’m sure that a single runner bean from your allotment qualifies as 1 of your 5 a day!

    Spiders… they really scare me. Big time. Especially those big ones… I call them elephant spiders – for a reason!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey hun, I just wanted to let you know we’ve had the first elephant spider of the season in our home. It was yesterday. Fortunately my husband (aka my dragon slayer) saw it and dealt with it. I asked him if it was big, he said ‘yeah, quite big’. Then I asked how big it was. He looked at me with his serious face and asked me ‘do you really want to know?’ I shrieked just thinking of what a huge thing it must have been…

    Today we’ve only got a small dragon in our home. A mosquito. But I got my bug zapper right next to me. The next time I hear it, it’s killing time. πŸ˜€

    Oh, this is only the third mosquito we’ve had this summer. Thanks to the neighbours our place was vampire-free until a few days ago. It’s too bad our neighbours are away at the moment. They had their windows open at night all summer, and I heard them (well him, not her) shouting “sh**, another one” all the time. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    • Noooo!!!! Poor you!!! Mind you, husbands are superheroes when it comes to the you-know-whats, aren’t they? My husband once moved all the bedroom furniture plus the bed – which basically means dismantling, unscrewing it and taking it apart – in order to search for a spider I’d seen. He then had to put the whole lot back together again – and did the whole thing without one complaint! We saw that particular monster again the next night and he killed it then!! xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Hey lovely, sorry it took me so long to respond. The weekend so far was… crazy busy. Fortunately it’s a bank holiday tomorrow, so I do have some time to relax and to catch up with everything.

        OK, so I killed the flying dragon. But that thing bit me before I could electrocute it with my bug zapper. But it was just one bite, so it’s OK. The swelling has gone down a lot already (I’m allergic to insect bites and stings), and my neighbours are back – I’m sure they’ll continue to leave their windows open at night, so the bloodsuckers will pop over to their place again.

        About your husband – he sounds wonderful! He too is a dragon slayer. And he’s YOUR dragon slayer! There aren’t any monsters under your bed, for sure!

        My husband never had to dismantle and reassemble anything, although he has moved furniture, and every time I wake him up in the middle of the night to chase a dragon, he gets up and deals with it. And if it takes half an hour, then it takes half an hour. And if it’s 4:30am, then it’s 4:30. It’s always killing time! πŸ˜€
        My husband usually doesn’t say anything at all in the middle of the night, but he’ll always say ‘done’ before he gets back to bed. And I know he always eliminates the source of evil – no matter if it’s a crawlie or something that flies.

        I think ‘little’ things like this make a relationship great. I know my husband and I have something special, and we both know we’ll always be together – not just because we can rely on each other when it comes to the big, important things, but also the little things. And it’s the little things, the small gestures, that show how much someone cares about someone else.

        And you and your husband really seem to have the real thing too. πŸ™‚ And could you please tell him that he’s a hero?

        I hope you enjoy the bank holiday. And I’ll be back on wordpress tomorrow. xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Your husband sounds amazing, Mrs SB! You are so lucky!! A BIG YAY for husbands, LOL!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Hope you have a super relaxing day today – I’m hoping to mess about in the garden and have beer, so enjoy whatever you’re doing! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

