The Allotment Wife

Pootling Along

2 Comments

A nice pootling kind of a morning at the allotment today. We hoed round and made sure everything was okay, as far as possible. I was expecting a little more from the sweet peas we planted last week but they’ve not done very much so far:

Sweet peas

However, on the plus side, the tulips are still doing their best, and even the daffodils are hanging on in there:

It’s really the lilies which are putting on something of a growth spurt, and the gladioli are poking their heads up a little more too:

LiliesGladioli

On the veggie front, we’re pleased with the rhubarb, the asparagus and the spinach, and had enough of the latter two to take as part of our harvest, hurrah!

Meanwhile, the autumn raspberries and gooseberry have plenty of foliage which is good news.

Here’s the harvest we gathered, which includes leeks too – and it’s odd as they really make my eyes sore even from just having them in the car, which hasn’t happened before – the soreness lasted all afternoon and has only just gone, so goodness knows what that is about! I LOVE leeks! K suggested wearing a gas mask next time we harvest the leeks, but I don’t think it’s a good look, LOL!

Harvest

Finally, here are the tulips in their vases at home.

Vases

Have a great bank holiday weekend!

Anne Brooke Books

 

Author: annebrooke

Anne Brooke lives in Surrey, UK, and writes in a variety of genres, including gay erotic romance, fantasy, comedy, thrillers, biblical fiction and the occasional chicklit novel. When not writing, she spends time in the garden attempting to differentiate between flowers and weeds, and in the allotment attempting to grow vegetables. Occasionally, she can also be found in the kitchen making cakes. Every now and again, they are edible. Her websites can be found at: www.annebrooke.com, www.gayreads.co.uk, www.biblicalfiction.co.uk and www.gathandria.com (for fantasy fiction).

2 thoughts on “Pootling Along

  1. The flowers look sooo beautiful! Nice little harvest. 🙂

    About the leeks – how about goggles? I used to wear my swimming goggles whenever I chopped onions or leeks. Yes, it looked remarkably silly, but it really worked. My eyes aren’t that sensitive anymore, so I haven’t worn goggles in the kitchen for a while. But sometimes I think I need to get those goggles out again because every time I eat a grapefruit, I end up with grapefruit juice in my eyes. It’s like I poke the grapefruit and it pokes back…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

